New Girl

itworksbikinigirl

Hello! I'm super excited to have found this forum because I have a lot of questions about transitioning to a vegan diet while prepping for my first NPC bikini competition in September. Here's a little background for you...

I started training in January of this year at a competition prep gym. Prior to that I've never been into fitness. My life has always revolved around health and wellness and clean eating, but the fitness aspect of it was missing for me. Now I'm completed addicted to training and love it! The gym I'm a part of is a mix between Crossfit and Westside Barbell.

I decided to compete in March because I saw how quickly my body was changing with the workouts. At that time I was transitioning myself to about 90% vegan. When I decided to compete, my measurements were taken and I was given a diet plan. Of course that plan consisted of mostly protein with low carbs and even lower fat. I was very skeptical about the diet, but it proved to really shed the pounds quickly. However I went from almost complete vegan to eating insane amounts of meat and I hate it!

My goal is to get back to a vegan lifestyle, but I was recently told that there's no way to prep for a competition as a vegan if you have a meat eating coach tracking your diet. Right now I'm torn because I am now 12 weeks out from my show. I keep saying after my first show I will transition back to vegan, but I would love if I could make it possible in the next 3 months leading up to it. BUT, I just don't know how it would be possible. My body is dying for more fruits and veggies and less animal meat!!

Right now I have my macros to hit each day. At the moment it's 142g Protein, 65g Carbs and 33g Fat. I know I can get protein from veggie sources, but they also come with a lot of carbs as well. Does anyone have any advice on all this?? It would be much appreciated! Thank you for listening to my story!!