Advice for the Newbie, por favor!

Hello everyone! I’m a newbie here! Just wanted to get some advice from you guys because I’m pretty new to the vegan fitness world. BTW, I’m 22, 6’0”, 155 lbs. Haven’t had regular exercise since high school gym!

For about two months, I have been focused mostly on running. I’m doing 30 minute jogs on Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Along with that I’m just doing pushups and sit ups and working some dumbbells at home. Not very exciting, but like I said, I’m new!

One of the things I’m having problems with in my runs is I seem to get a lot of injuries. I injured my Achilles a while back and couldn’t run for 5 days! I get a lot of soreness in my calves that last a while, but now I’m experiencing something that feels totally different than soreness running parallel to the ground around mid-calf. I’m not sure what I can call an injury and take a break from or when it’s okay to keep running! And why is it taking so long to heal!

I plan on sneaking into the fitness room and getting in some strength training before I go to work once a week (so nobody can see me make an ass out of myself) but I’m not sure where to start. I read a bit on strength training and it sounds so complicated! How can lifting a heavy object repeatedly be so complicated! What I did learn intimidated me more than I was before I considered starting.

Anywho, I know I’m a cheap-o looking for free fitness advice from the internet, but a gym membership and a trainer is out of my price range right now.

What are your goals? I have some ideas if you want to get stronger.

As far as your injuries go, it might have something to do with how new you are to running. Maybe your body just isn't used to it yet. I'm not a doctor though, so if it really hurts, go to a doctor!

Hey man, welcome